Open Meeting on June 21, 1996 in Milwaukee, WI
and
List of Participants


Open Meeting Held for Scientists Interested in
Interdisciplinary Coastal Studies in the Great Lakes

The NSF-Coastal Ocean Processes Program (CoOP) and the NOAA-Coastal Ocean Program (COP) hosted an open meeting on June 21, 1996, for scientists interested in interdisciplinary coastal studies in the Great Lakes, on the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee campus. An Announcement of Opportunity was released the end of April, 1996, which solicits proposals for a coordinated study in the Great Lakes. This cooperative inter-agency initiative anticipates supporting integrated, multi-investigator, interdisciplinary programs of modeling and process studies with the overall goal of improving understanding, predictability and management of Great Lakes resources. The proposal deadline is August 15, 1996.

The purpose of this meeting was to promote communication among prospective investigators and to inform them of:

We hoped to facilitate the preparation of well coordinated, multi-investigator, interdisciplinary proposals that address the goals of the CoOP/COP Announcement of Opportunity for Great Lakes Research. The meeting was open to all interested scientists. Many participants gave brief presentations that outlined their interdisciplinary research interests in the Great Lakes and brought abstracts for distribution.

For additional information, please contact

the CoOP Office
Skidaway Institute of Oceanography
10 Ocean Science Circle
Savannah, GA 31411 USA
phone: 912-598-2493; FAX 912-598-2310

Copies of the CoOP Great Lakes Workshop report as well as the joint NSF/NOAA Announcement of Opportunity are available from the CoOP Office.


List of Participants
(* submitted abstract)

1. William Ahrnsbrak, Hobart & William Smith College ahrnsbrak@hws.edu

2. Larry Anderson, Harvard University* larrya@pacific.harvard.edu

3. Keith Bedford, Ohio State University* kbedford@magnus.acs.ohio-state.edu

4. Susan Boehme, Rutgers University* boehme@ahab.rutgers.edu

5. Philip Bogden, Yale University* philip@oceans.geology.yale.edu

6. Steve Brandt, Buffalo State College brandt@glc.snybuf.edu

7. Eric Brown, University of Minnesota ebrown1@d.umn.edu

8. Judy Wells Budd, MI Technological University* jrbudd@mtu.edu

9. Marie Bundy, NOAA GLERL* bundy@glerl.noaa.gov

10. Jim Churchill, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution* jchurchill@whoi.edu

11. Larry Clark, NSF hclark@nsf.gov

12. Jim Cotner, Texas A&M* j-cotner@tamu.edu

13. Tim Cowles, Oregon State University* tjc@oce.orst.edu

14. Gabe Csanady, Old Dominion University* (phone only: 508-420-5507)

15. Brian Eadie, NOAA GLERL* eadie@glerl.noaa.gov

16. David Edgington, University of Wisconsin dnedgi@csd.uwm.edu

17. Gary Fahnenstiel, NOAA GLERL fahnenstiel@glerl.noaa.gov 1

8. Kevin Fermanich, University of Wisconsin Sea Grant kfermani@seagrant.wisc.edu

19. Sharon Fitzgerald, USGS safitzge@usgs.gov

20. Jean-Francois Gaillard, Northwestern University jf-gaillard@nwu.edu

21. Scott Gallager, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution* scott@videoking.whoi.edu

22. Wayne Gardner, NOAA GLERL* gardner@glerl.noaa.gov

23. Sarah Green, Michigan Technological University* sgreen@mtu.edu

24. Roy Gu, Iowa State* roygu@iastate.edu

25. Frank Hall, University of Delaware* frhall@copland.udel.edu

26. Nathan Hawley, NOAA GLERL* hawley@glerl.noaa.gov

27. Bob Heath, Kent State University rheath@phoenix.kent.edu

28. Dave Hebert, University of Rhode Island hebert@micmac.gso.uri.edu

29. Tom Holsen, Illinois Institute of Technology* holsen@charlie.cns.iit.edu

30. Midhat Hondzo, Purdue University* hondzo@ecn.purdue.edu

31. John Janssen, Loyola University jjansse@orion.it.luc.edu

32. Tom Johengen, NOAA GLERL johengen@glerl.noaa.gov

33. Janet Keough, National Biological Service* janet_keough@nbs.gov

34. Charles Kerfoot, Michigan Technological University* wkerfoot@mtu.edu

35. Val Klump, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee vklump@csd.uwm.edu

36. Kwang Lee, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee kklee@csd.uwm.edu

37. John Lehman, University of Michigan* jtlehman@umich.edu

38. Barry Lesht, Argonne National Lab bmlesht@anl.gov

39. Brent Lewis, University of Delaware* bllewis@udel.edu

40. Wilbert Lick, University of California-SB* willy@ferkel.ucsb.edu

41. Dennis Lyn, Purdue University lyn@ecn.purdue.edu

42. Charles Madenjian, National Biological Service chuck-madenjian@nbs.gov

43. Jim Maki, Marquette University makij@vms.csd.mu.edu

44. Doran Mason, University of Wisconsin mason@limnosun.limology.wisc.edu

45. Gerald Matisoff, Case Western Reserve* gxm4@po.cwru.edu

46. Guy Meadows, University of Michigan gmeadows@engin.umich.edu

47. Gerald Miller, NOAA GLERL miller@glerl.noaa.gov

48. Clifford Mortimer (phone only: 414-291-9548)

49. Mohi Munawar, Canadian Centre for Inland Waters (phone only: 905-336-4867)

50. Kent Orlandini, Argonne National Lab (phone only: 708-252-4236)

51. Candace Oviatt, University of Rhode Island* coviatt@gsosun1.gso.uri.edu

52. Krishna Pagilla, Illinois Institute of Technology pagilla@charlie.iit.edu

53. Vadim Panov, Zoological Institute, Russia panov@mbold.usr.pu.ru

54. Mike Pennington, NOAA (phone only: 414-273-6100)

55. Elise Ralph, Scripps Institution* elise@tiwe.ucsd.edu

56. Mike Reeve, NSF mreeve@nsf.gov

57. Charles Remsen, University of Wisconsin ccremsen@csd.uwm.edu

58. Paul Roebber, University of Wisconsin roebber@csd.uwm.edu

59. Mike Roman, CoOP, University of Maryland-Horn Point Lab roman@hpel.cees.edu

60. Edward Rutherford, University of Michigan* edwardr@umich.edu

61. James Saylor, NOAA GLERL saylor@glerl.noaa.gov

62. Don Scavia, NOAA COP dscavia@cop.noaa.gov

63. Joe Schubauer-Berigan, University of South Carolina* jschubau@belle.baruch.sc.edu

64. David Schwab, NOAA GLERL* schwab@glerl.noaa.gov

65. Gary Sprules, University of Toronto gsprules@cyclops.erin.utoronto.ca

66. David Stahl, Northwestern University d-stahl@nwu.edu

67. Noel Urban, Michigan Technological University* nurban@mtu.edu

68. Leonard Walstad, University of Maryland-Horn Point Lab* walstad@hpel.cees.edu

69. Glenn Warren, U.S. EPA warren.glen@epamail.epa.gov

70. Nigel Wattrus, University of Minnesota nwattrus@d.umn.edu

71. John Wickham, NOAA COP jwickham@cop.noaa.gov

72. Julie Wolin, Geological Survey of Denmark/Greenland gb012@mmdgu.dgu.dk

73. Hyungmoh Yih, Texas A&M* yih@latexa.tamu.edu

74. Michael Zarull, Canadian Centre for Inland Waters michael.zarull@cciw.ca

75. Stephan Zeeman, University of New England szeeman@mailbox.une.edu 6/26/96