Awards and Honors


2007 Nobel Peace Prize: Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) - Brent Lofgren, Raymond Assel and Frank Quinn contributed significantly to the IPCC process and thus share in the credits for the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize that was awarded jointly to Albert A. Gore, Jr. and the IPCC, “for their efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change.”

State Oceanic Administration (SAO), China - Jia Wang - Honorary Ocean Scholar and Professor, 2001

Outstanding Productivity and Excellence in Science Award of 2000 - Jia Wang - Japanese Agency for Marine Science and Technology (JAMSTEC), Tokyo, Japan, 2000.


2010 Green Gov Presidential Green Dream Team Award - David Schwab, Juli Bressie, and Sonia Joseph for the Interagency Working Group on Climate Change and Health Team’s report, “A Human Health Perspective on Climate Change,” which provides a baseline assessment of the current state of knowledge of the health impacts of climate change and informs projections of future impacts.

2008 U.S. Department of Commerce Gold Medal - David Reid, Emeritus, for research resulting in improved environmental stewardship related to maritime commerce and implementation of regulations enhancing Great Lakes ecosystem protection from invasive species via ballast water.

2007 White House Closing the Circle Award - For the conversion of ships from petroleum-based fuels and lubricants to bio-based products led by Dennis Donahue.

2006 Department of Energy Federal Energy Management Program Award - Dennis Donahue for the first modern U.S. research vessel, the NOAA R/V Huron Explorer, to operate free of petroleum products. This award was given during an Earth Day Week event and was part of the Department of Energy’s “You Have the Power” campaign.

2001 Department of the Army Commander’s Award for Public Service - Frank Quinn for significant contributions to water level predictions.

1999 U.S. Department of Commerce Silver Medal Award - David Schwab for contributions to advanced modeling and forecasting water movements and other physical conditions on the Great Lakes.


2008 NOAA Distinguished Career Award - Thomas Croley received this prestigious award for continued research and development of advanced Great Lakes hydrology models and predictions over twenty-eight years of service to NOAA

2008 Outstanding Scientific Paper Award - Henry Vanderploeg, Thomas Johengen, Gregory Lang, Joann Cavaletto, Brian Eadie, Jim Liebig, Jerry Miller, Steven Ruberg, and Michael McCormick for “Vanderploeg, H.A., Johengen, T.H., Lavrentyev, P.J., Chen, C., Lang, G.A., Agy, M.A., Bundy, M.H., Cavaletto, J.F., Eadie, B.J., Liebig, J.R., Miller, G.S., Ruberg, S.A., and McCormick, M.J. 2007. Anatomy of the recurrent coastal plume in Lake Michigan and its impacts to light climate, plankton and nutrients. J. Geophysical Res. - Oceans: doi:10.1029/2004JC002379, 2007.”

2006 NOAA Bronze Medal Award - Team including Michael McCormick and Cathleen Darnell for voluntary service provided during FEMA post-disaster relief operations after multiple hurricane strikes in 2005.

2006 OAR Outstanding Scientific Paper Award - David Schwab for “Schwab, D.J., and D. Beletsky (2003). Relative effects of wind stress curl, topography, and stratification on large-scale circulation in Lake Michigan. J. Geophysical Res., 108(C2), 3044, doi:1029/2001JC001066.”

2005 NOAA Bronze Medal Award - Team including Stephen Lozano and Cathleen Darnell for developing a precedent-setting manual on how to monitor coastal habitat restoration efforts in a scientifically sound and cost-effective manner.

2005 NOAA Administrator’s Award - David Schwab for the development and implementation of a Great Lakes hydrodynamic wave model which led to improved wave height forecasts for Great Lakes maritime users.

2005 NOAA Administrator’s Award - Thomas Croley was recognized for significant research achievements leading to the development, advancement and application of advanced hydrological and lake level predictions for the Great Lakes and their connecting channels to improve water resource management and to promote public awareness. His work at NOAA is widely recognized and respected throughout the national and international water resource community.

2005 OAR Outstanding Scientific Paper Award - Henry Vanderploeg, Thomas Nalepa, and Jim Liebig for “Vanderploeg, H.A., T.F. Nalepa, D.J. Jude, E.L. Mills, K.T. Holeck, J.R. Liebig, I.A. Grigorovich, and H. Ojaveer. 2002. Dispersal and ecological impacts of Ponto-Caspian species in the Great Lakes. Can. J. Fish. Aquat. Sci. 59: 1209-1228.”

2004 NOAA Distinguished Career Award - Raymond Assel for a career of distinguished research leading to improved understanding and prediction of Great Lakes ice cover.

2002 NOAA Bronze Medal Award - Team including David Reid, Emeritus, for identifying the scale of the NOBOB (no ballast on board) issue, initiating a multi-year research program and fostering international cooperation of U.S. and Canadian scientists and sponsorship of multiple agencies and institutions in support of these efforts.

1999 NOAA Bronze Medal Award - Team including Brent Lofgren for contributions in facilitating NOAA’s workgroup meetings during NOAA’s first Survey, Feedback, and Action process to ensure inclusion, and an open examination of systems, policies, and practices which affect the quality of work life of NOAA employees.

Professional Society

2008 IAGLR Chandler-Misener Award - Doran Mason, David Schwab, Edward Rutherford for “Beletsky, D., D.M. Mason, D. Schwab, E. Rutherford, and J. Janssen. 2007. Biophysical model of larval yellow perch advection and settlement in Lake Michigan. Journal of Great Lakes Research 33:842-866.”

2004 IAGLR Chandler-Misener Award - David Reid, Emeritus for “Holcombe, T.L., L.A. Taylor, D.F. Reid, J.S. Warren, P.A. Vincent, and C.E. Herdendorf (2003). Revised Lake Erie postglacial lake level history based on new detailed bathymetry. J. Great Lakes Res., 29(4), 681-704.”

Wireless Environmental Observatory - Steven Ruberg - Best Presentation Award at the High Performance Computing and Communications NOAATECH 2004 Conference in Silver Spring, MD.

2002 Editor’s Award - Thomas Nalepa, International Association of Great Lakes Research, 2002.

2001 American Meteorological Society Special Award - David Schwab for developing the first U.S. coastal forecasting system to make routine operational predictions of currents, temperatures, and key trace constituents.


2009 GLOS Special Achievement Award - David Schwab for recognition of signification contributions to the Great Lakes Observing System. GLOS is the Great Lakes Regional Association of IOOS.

2007 Ohio State University Outstanding Alumni Award - Thomas Croley received the Outstanding Civil Engineering Alumni Award for the Ohio State University for his work in hydrology.

2001 Great Lakes Commission Outstanding Service Award - Frank Quinn for significant contributions to the Great Lakes.